Upgrading OverOps

Contents

How to Update

Re-Installing OverOps

Related Articles

 

OverOps releases application updates periodically. The new features and updates are described in the relevant Release Notes. When adding important updates to the OverOps Agent/Controller, the web application prompts you to upgrade. 

 

How to Upgrade

When a new version of OverOps is released, the Newer version available option appears in the Settings menu.

To upgrade OverOps to the latest version:

  1. From Settings, click Newer version available and choose your setup. The update process is identical to the installation process you performed for your first server.
    Installation Wizard
  2. Follow the steps in the Install OverOps window to re-install OverOps using the selected installer – Wget, cURL, Windows installer, etc. There’s no need to uninstall OverOps before running the update, the new version overrides the previous version.
    Note: If you’ve set up automatic installation for your servers with Chef or Puppet, OverOps will upgrade automatically.
  3. When the installation is complete, restart the running JVMs for the upgrade to take effect. If you can’t restart them immediately, OverOps monitors those JVMs and will automatically upgrade at restart.

 

Re-Installing OverOps

The OverOps Collector (that runs the daemon process called takipi-service or TakipiService.exe) keeps state mainly under /opt/takipi/work folder. During the upgrade procedure, this state is preserved, as well as any configuration changes made in takipi.properties file and only the binaries are upgraded.

In some rare cases, either when the state got corrupted (server was running out of disk space) or a faulty version, you may be prompted to carry out a complete re-installation, including the uninstalling and then re-installing OverOps. This procedure erases the properties and the installation key, therefore it is recommended that you save them in a temporary location.

Changes to the takipi.properties file require restarting the Collector. Click here to learn how to restart the Collector.

The Collector also keeps state of the Agents that are communicating with it. Since OverOps maintains information about each Agent in the /opt/takipi/work folder, removing it breaks that connection between the Agent and the Collector, and a JVM restart is needed to re-establish the link.

 

Related Articles

Settings Management

Have more questions? Submit a request