Updating OverOps' Version

Contents

Introduction

How to Update

Re-Installing OverOps

Related Articles

 

Introduction

At OverOps, we’re adding great new features all the time. Keeping up to date is a simple process. 

 

How to Update

If a new version of OverOps is released, a new menu option will appear under Settings menu on the top of your OverOps screen.

To update to the latest version:

1. Click on the "Newer version available" link from your Settings dropdown menu and follow the steps for your particular setup. The update process is identical to the installation process you performed for your first server.

The Installation Wizard

2. Follow the “Install OverOps” steps, and re-install the latest version using your selected installer – Wget, cURL, windows installer, etc. The new version will update the older installation, and there’s no need to uninstall OverOps before running the update.

Note: If you’ve set up automatic installation for your servers with Chef or Puppet, OverOps will update automatically.

3. After the installation is complete, restart your running JVMs for the update to take effect. If you can’t restart them immediately, don’t worry. OverOps will keep monitoring those JVMs and will automatically update once they’re restarted.

 

Re-Installing OverOps

OverOps collector (daemon process named takipi-service or TakipiService.exe) keeps state mainly under /opt/takipi/work folder. When you upgrade OverOps, the installation process keeps that state, as well as any configuration changes made in takipi.properties file and only upgrades the binaries.

In some extreme cases, either when the state got corrupted (server was running out of disk space) or a faulty version, you will be asked to do a complete re-installation.

This means you will have to run the uninstall procedure and then re-install OverOps.

This will clear your properties and the secret installation key used, so make sure to keep those in a temp location.

Any changes to the takipi.properties file requires a collector restart. Click here to learn how to restart the collector.

The collector also keeps state about the micro agents which are communicating with it. Since OverOps maintains  information about each micro agent in the work folder discussed above, removing it will break that connection between the micro agent and the collector, and you will have to restart that JVM to re-establish the link.

 

Related Articles

Settings Management

Have more questions? Submit a request