Hiding and Resolving your Errors

Contents

Introduction

Hiding Errors

Auto-Hide

Resolving Errors

Undoing Hidden or Resolved Errors

Related Articles

 

Introduction

Not all errors are equal. Some errors are insignificant and already well-known to you. Some you’ve already solved and are adding a fix to in the next release. You may not always want to see errors like these in your dashboard alongside the real critical ones. That’s where the “Hide” and “Mark as resolved” buttons come in.

 

Hiding Errors

When you identify an error or exception that’s minor and already well-known to your team, you may not want to see it pop up on your dashboard anymore. That’s what the Hide button is for. When you hide an error, you will no longer see any future instances of it on your dashboard. There are several different ways that you can hide errors. One way is to click the checkbox for the error or errors in your dashboard and click the “Hide” button above the dashboard.

hiding___resolving_intro.png

The hide button next to an error

 

A second way to hide errors is to click the Hide button within an error analysis. 

hiding___resolving_hiding.png

The hide button within the error details

 

Auto-Hide

Sometimes hiding an error or even several at a time is just not enough. Nobody knows your app as much as you, and if you really need to reduce the “noise” in your dashboard (all those pesky uninteresting or irrelevant issues) you can use the auto-hide function.

The “Auto-Hide” dialog

 

The auto-hide works the same as the alerts - using the grid’s filters you create a view for what you want to be auto-hidden from that point on. You can use as many filters as you need in each rule (i.e. “auto-hide view”), and create as many rules as you want. You can go back to each rule at any point to review which filters you have set, and edit or delete these if necessary.

 

Resolving Errors

When you’ve solved an error and are patching it in the next release, you may no longer want to be notified of it. In this scenario, you can use the “Resolved” button to notify OverOps that you’re on top of it. When you mark an error as resolved, OverOps will no longer show you new instances of it in your dashboard. Unlike with the Hide function, once you’ve implemented a new build, if OverOps detects the reappearance of an error that you’ve marked as resolved, it will send you an email and let you know it has resurfaced.

There are a few different ways to mark errors as resolved. One way is to click the checkbox for the error or errors in your dashboard and click the “Resolved” button above the dashboard.

The “Resolved” button next to an error


A second way is to click the Resolved button when you’re looking at the code and variables state information within the error analysis. In the upper left-hand side above the stack information, you will see four buttons, including the Resolved checkmark button.

hiding___resolving_hiding.png

“Resolved” button within an error analysis

 

Undoing Hidden or Resolved Errors

If you changed your mind about an error that you’ve hidden or marked resolved, you can undo the decision by clicking the Archived or Resolved label on the left side menu bar, then clicking on the “Inbox” button for the error or errors of your choice. 

 

hiding___resolving_undoing.png

Removing two errors from the archive list

 

Related Articles

Sorting and Filtering Exceptions

Troubleshooting

 

Have more questions? Submit a request