Managing Team Members

Follow

Contents

Introduction

Adding or Removing Team Members

User Privileges

Sharing Notes with Team Members

Tagging Team Members

Updating Notes

Related Articles

 

Introduction

OverOps promotes working in teams: transferring events to another team member, notifying a team leader, or just for reassurance. OverOps enables you to share error analysis with team members and grant or revoke access to the Dashboard for any number of people.

Adding or Removing Team Members

Unlimited number of team members can be invited to view events occurring on the monitored server (or group of servers), allowing each member to create their own view and filter for relevant items.

To add a team member:

  1. From the OverOps Dashboard, click Manage Teammates at the top of the screen.
  2. Enter the team member’s email address, and click Add.
    An email invite to the OverOps deployment is sent.
    To accept the invitation, the new team members must click the link in the mail.
  3. Set team member permissions (admin or member).
    Note: This requires admin or owner privileges and can be changed.

Team Settings window


Once the invitation is accepted, the new team member is prompted to register at OverOps in order to access the analysis information.

Invited team members with no account, are displayed in the Team Settings window as 'Waiting for confirmation'. Deleting team members blocks access to the servers associated with that account (or specific key when using multiple keys).

Note: An invitation is associated with the installation key used at the time the team member was added. When managing multiple environments, you can use multiple keys to control which servers are accessible for each user by using an installation key for each group of servers (for example: production servers, development, QA, etc). To allow team members access to multiple environments, you must invite them separately for each key.

 

User Privileges

New team member gain admin-like permissions to use OverOps: install and add new servers to the list of monitored servers, view error and exception analyses, add labels, hide and resolve errors, submit Jira issues, create their own private filters, share errors with other team members, and add additional team members.

Privileges reserved for admins and owners include editing security and account settings, and revoke access for team members added by them.

Owner only controls the plan and billing options.

 

Sharing Notes with Team Members

Events in OverOps are shareable. You can add notes and share them with team members, or assign the event to team members. The added notes are attached to the specific event in the OverOps Dashboard.

To add and share notes:

  1. From the Dashboard, open the event.
  2. From the upper left side, click Add a Note.
    The Add a Note dialog box opens.
  3. Enter/edit the note text and/or tag team members and click Save Changes.

Or

  1. From the Dashboard, click + to edit columns and check the Notes checkbox to add the Notes column.
  2. In the row of the event, click the  icon to add or edit a note.
    The Edit Note dialog box opens.
  3. Enter/edit the note text and/or tag team members and click Save Changes.

The note will be attached to the specific error and will be visible to your team.

Add and share Notes.

 

Tagging Team Members

Notes are visible in the Dashboard to everyone in your team. Tagging specific team members sends them an email notification about the note. This tool helps you involve team members in the discourse on an event. All correspondence through notes is accompanied by email notifications.

To tag team members:

  • From the Add/Edit Note dialog box, enter the members names or their email addresses in the Tag people box and click Save Changes.

New team members can also be invited to OverOps using this screen in order to view an error. When adding a non-registered user, OverOps offers to add them to your team. Click Yes, then Save.

 

Updating a Note

If a team member shares an error with you and you want to comment on it, you can edit the note. To do so, open the shared note from the dashboard and click on the “edit” button on the top right side of the screen. Write your comment and save your changes, and the people tagged in the note will be notified of your comments. All team members tagged in a note (including its creator) will receive a notification when the note is updated.

 

Related Articles

Account Settings

Hiding and Resolving Errors

Installation Keys

Labels

Troubleshooting

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.